Reacting

I get angry. And I get into fights. I am a thinker. Day dreams are my nicotine. And when I’m angry I day dream of fights and arguments. I work myself up over possible scenarios. I tend to do it both ways, both positive day dreams and negative. It’s fun to think of what I’d do with the lottery, or an extra $100 per month. It’s not so fun to get mad at people who haven’t yet done anything.

Yesterday I got worked up over something that was beyond my control. Nothing I could have done would have changed it. But it took up some room in my mind and I got angry that something wasn’t done sooner. Realistically there was nothing I could do about it. When I talked with one of the people involved, they gave a simple action to do.

Next time something doesn’t go my way, I’m going to try not to get worked up and think of the next action to take. I’m hoping to waste less mental energy on things I can’t control.

How do you control yourself when things don’t go your way?

Leave a Reply

