A Dilemma: Which Charity to Give To?

I have many charities I am passionate about: Red Cross, Literacy Volunteers, and Friends of the Library mainly.

What if you had to pick one?

Recently, I was at a charity event. They raffled off prizes. The prizes varied, but all were cash to a charity of your choice. Prizes were between $500 and $10,000.

A charity of my choice!?

Which one would I choose?

Let’s cross off Red Cross, because I’m not that involved there(yet).

That leaves Literacy and the Library.

My honest reaction?

The library would probably win if it were a secret pick and no one knew. But somehow the Friends of the Library felt less of a noble cause than literacy. The social pressure in my head was forcing me to lean toward Literacy. The social pressure in my head was also forcing me to consider the charity the event was for, Center for Disability Services, but I dismissed that as I have no ties to that charity.

So what should I pick? Socially acceptable or my gut??

unFortunately I didn’t win any prizes, so I didn’t have to make a decision.

I like to think I would stick with my gut. It’s an interesting dilemma I thought I would share with you.

On another not: I am glad I do stand for some charity. A number of people had no idea where they would donate the money. I find this incredibly sad that they are missing out on the incredible opportunity charities offer.

Leave a Reply

