Manage Motivation and Energy, Measure Results

The other day I was introduced to an alternative way to look at time management. Instead of managing time, instead I should be managing energy and motivation. This is brilliant. Time is uncontrollable. It’s passive to try to get a handle on something uncontrollable. Time doesn’t slow down for anyone. Motivation and energy are controllable. Let’s take a closer look at the implications of looking at the world this way

Motivation

Motivation is the ‘why bother’ and the mental side of the equation. It is the reason for doing anything.

I set my alarm at 6am for two reasons, I have to work at 8 and I want to get something* done before then. I have tried to wake up at 5am and be super productive, but I hit the alarm clock again and again. No amount of tactics has worked to change that. Why? I have no motivation, I’m perfectly happy with one pomodoro of effort in the morning.

It’s important to know, even instinctively, why you are doing something.

Everything that drives me is because of a desire to be free to spend as much time with my children as I want. It’s been my driving motivation for the better part of my 20s. All roads point to that.

Do you know what your driving motivation is??

Energy

Energy is the physical side. Energy makes you say ‘I feel good to go!!’

I can’t tell you how often I’ll be staring at my goal at noon on a Saturday, and all I can think about is a nap. I know I’m supposed to sleep 5 hours to get up and be super motivated to ‘go get em.’ I’ll tell you what, if the only time I can get ’em is after a 3/4 nights sleep, then they can shove it up their Christmas trees.

7 hours is perfect for me. Friends I know work much better on 8.5 to 9 hours sleep. I also began napping at lunch(my work has a meditation room) and now I don’t feel as tired after work.

Instead of trying to get results by measuring time spent, try to manage energy and motivation and measure results by what you get done. Is the author who can write 4 books a year on 9 hour sleep any lazier than the author who can do it on 6 hours? Why let some preconceived notion of how much ‘time’ is spent determine how successful you are. Keep progressing toward your goal, all else is tactics.

Leave a Reply

