The Importance of Learning

I don’t know where I would be if it weren’t for books. I was never into books in school. I read what I had to and that was enough. It wasn’t until senior year that I bought my first book. I was browsing around a mall on a family vacation, and The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People was on display.

I still don’t know what compelled me to buy it, but I found myself at home(after vacation was over of course) reading it. I didn’t finish it the first time. I got to the 3rd habit and stopped. A few more times I’d start and stop reading. Despite not reading the entire thing, I picked up two lessons that today, seem like they are embedded in my soul.

After 10 years and countless books later, I’m amazed that I connected with the first book I found. Not all books are like that. Some are as disappointing as a Dallas Cowboy Superbowl run(maybe this year Boys!) Few have an impact on your life, and even fewer impact you so deeply they alter your life.

Today, it’s not only books that have impacted me. Blogs, TED, Motivational Speeches, Documentaries, all have had their affect on me. Not everyone resonates in the same way, and some feel like I wasted my time. When that happens, I pick up the next one, because I know that one will speak to me.

It’s important to learn, because God doesn’t install the software of success, or He does and our environment corrupts them. Learning opens up doors that weren’t opened before. The highway to success starts by getting on board the learning lane. If refuse to don’t learn because of whatever lame excuse, then you are not serious about living life to the fullest and you will never experience The Rush.

Leave a Reply

