Accept the acceptable

God, grant me the serenity

to accept the things I cannot change;

the courage to change the things I can;

and the wisdom to know the difference.

I’m having a hard time recently at my work. There are more and more process being introduced that are flawed. I mention the flaws to my superiors but it appears to be falling on deaf ears. I am getting increasingly angry about these processes. They make my job more tedious and I loathe tedious things. I don’t know why they aren’t being changed, but they aren’t.

I realize I can’t change everything. These processes are out of my hands. I have to do them or lose my job (which I don’t want). But it is so difficult to accept. It is hard to know that something is wrong, yet you are powerless to do anything.

Sometimes, especially when your life is in another’s hands, you have to do what you are told. You have to ask yourself if that is acceptable. For me it is, as long as they keep sending my pay check I will gladly do what they want. I know my overall picture, and in the grand scheme of things, these new processes are only an inconvenience. I can deal. Is the value you are getting worth your inconvenience? Sometimes it’s not going to be, then you need to make a change. Otherwise, do as I do, follow the words of Thich Nhat Hanh “Smile, breathe, and go slowly.”

Leave a Reply

