Impact of a Smile

“Because of your smile, you make life more beautiful.” – Thich Nhat Hanh

I had to go to a wake of someone I cared for. She was an older woman, and had been fighting Cancer for a while. I knew she would eventually pass on, I wasn’t prepared when I heard the news. It kind of shook me. At the wake I was giving my condolensces to one of her sons, and he caught me off guard when he happily told me not to be sad, ‘Just remember her smile.’ My day instantly shifted. She had a beautiful smile, and I’m glad I was blessed enough to have shared a smile with her on multiple occasions. I will miss it, and I will always remember it.

Another smile that I remember vividly was from a woman I never knew, and have never talked to. I was driving on my way to school. A normal day, just bopping along to my music. I was at a stop light, and there were two women who were crossing in front of my car. One of the women turned to me, smiled, and kept on walking. It is without doubt one of the most beautiful random gifts I have received. And I remember it even now.

A smile is the cheapest and most effective you give to a random stranger. Smile. It will have an effect on the person you are smiling at, but it will also have an effect on you. You will be happier for giving it. So do the world a favor and smile. Genuinely and often. It doesn’t cost you a thing, and who knows, you may be that random person who changed my entire day in one second. Or you could be my friend who made my life brighter.

Leave a Reply

