Small Steps = Giant Leaps

Every once in a while my inbox will get backed up. If I go on a vacation, or just slack off for a week, when I come back, it’s a big old stack. I might try to avoid it for a while; it always appears like there is so much to do. Eventually though I must face the reality that it needs to get done.

I wonder ‘how am I ever going to get all this done.’ Experience tells me ‘one piece at a time.’ So I pick up one piece, and next thing I know, everything is organized and I’m ready to switch from processing to doing. After I’m done processing I say ‘Wow, that didn’t take that long at all.’

Lao Tzu said “the journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” Improving your life begins with one tiny action. Those tiny actions don’t seem like much, but they make a world of difference. Any effort you put toward your goals has an impact. No matter how small that effort may be, it impacts your life.

“Day by day nothing seems to change, but pretty soon….everything’s different.” You may be working on a goal, going through the daily grind and wondering why you’re not seeing any results. Don’t worry, just because you can’t see the result doesn’t mean it’s not there. It’s there, and one day you will notice it. And when you do notice it, it is one of the best feelings to have. You know you’re making a difference in your life. There is still a long way to go, but that doesn’t make the journey so far any less sweet. And it all started with one small step.

Leave a Reply

