The Influence of Books

This month I am going to be talking about my influences, how I got where I am, more specifically books that helped me get here. I am only 23, and I can assure you I didn’t get where I am today without some serious help.

To use a phrase from John Maxwell, “I’m a turtle on a fence post” Hint: if you see a turtle on a fence post, you know he had some help getting there.

We can’t take this journey alone, we need friends, we need role models, we need teachers. I learned from books mainly. I am a reader, I love to read. Books are a great way to take in new ideas, and stimulate old ones.

I will not be giving reviews of these books, persay. Rather, I will be telling you how they influenced me, and my general thoughts.

I hope this will cause you to search out these books. You will benefit greatly from them.

2 thoughts on “The Influence of Books

  1. People helped influence me. Some the normal way, like my aunt mary. She is a great women and I wanted to share some of her qualities. But a lot came from what I didn’t want from other people. Like everyone in my family drinks, so I decided from an early age I would never drink. Granted some books helped, but most of it came from people!

  2. Hi Nathan,

    You stopped by my site so I visited yours. You have very profound thinking for your age. I found your posts insightful and interesting. I think you are on the right track for living your life with your principles and your “only you can change you” insight. Both are very true. A person can be honorable and have principles that they live by, or they can be selfish and self-centered and want only what is good for them. I would much rather be honorable.

    I like your site, I’ll be visiting again soon.

    MsDane

Leave a Reply

