Demons, Battles, Adventures, and Forces

This quote came from J.D. over at Get Rich Slowly.

“What impresses me most, though, are not my own accomplishments, but what they represent. When people overcome huge obstacles, they often say, “If I can do it, anyone can.” It’s a cliché — and never literally true — but I think there’s something very real to this sentiment. When we face our own demons and defeat them, we realize that through force of will, others can do the same. We recognize that each of us possesses inner strength that can lead to a better life. Through dedication, we can all achieve our goals.”

It’s not the accomplishments that matter. Sure they are great and they’re wonderful milestones. But it’s the process of changing that matter most. Some say it’s not the destination, but the journey that makes life worthwhile, and I agree. I have a quote on my wall by Marcus Aurelius “Life is an adventure or nothing at all.” My life is an adventure, and I’m loving every minute of it.

J.D. uses two phrases that I want to touch on.

First, the phrase “When we face our own demons.” I’ve always pictured myself growth journey in terms of a battle. It’s a constant battle to improve yourself daily. Not with other warriors, but with yourself. You are your toughest opponent, and if you want to live the life of a great person, you have conquer your ‘demons’. Remember however, when you are fighting, if you lose strength, I will be right there beside you, fighting. We fight the same fight, therefore, we are brothers-in-arms.

He also uses the phrase, ‘through force of will’. That would be the ‘grab the bull by the horns‘ theory. You HAVE to impose your will to change, life is not going to change for you. And it is an inner strength that accomplishes this. It’s knowing that you and ONLY you can provide yourself with a better, happier life.

Leave a Reply

