“Grab Life By the Horns”

Bull

“Grab life by the Horns” I use that phrase when I talk about adversity. Life has a tendancy of throwing a wrench in the best laid plans.

Example: November 2006, everything is going fabulous. I had a decent job, I had been with the company for 4+ years. I had a really cute girlfriend, who was nice, ambitious, fun to be with. So those two areas of my life were outstanding. Then in the course of a month I lost both. The job I lost the Friday before Thanksgiving because I sent an ‘inappropriate’ e-mail. I lost the girl a week before Christmas. So I had a choice, I could get pushed around and take it. I could curl up and play the ‘woe is me’ card. And who could have blamed me, I lost a great girl and a good job all between Thanksgiving and Christmas. And it was all my fault.

Fortunately for me, I was already far along my self growth path before this happened. So I knew that when life pushes me around, I shake it off and I push right back!

“When life hands you lemons make lemonade.” But don’t do it docilely. Do it EMPHATICALLY. You can’t just push life back, you have to shove it. Hurl it, lambaste it. Take life out back and turn it into one of the old Batman shows. WHAM! POP! BOW! I don’t take shit from life. My life is what it is because I made it that way. Your life will be what it is because you make it or you let life make it. So make it be what YOU want, and DON’T accept anything less.

I picture life as a bull, I grab it by the horns and SLAM it to the ground.

4 thoughts on ““Grab Life By the Horns”

  1. Wow …such sage advice for someone so young. Kudos to you. I wish I could say that I’ve “grabbed life by the horns” …I’m still working on it. I tend to play the “woe is me” card far too much. Maybe because it’s easier and that’s the way I’ve always done it. It doesn’t work so well – so I’m trying to change…one day at a time. What could be better than slammin’ it to the ground? Great post…thanks!

  2. Keep trying to change, you’ll get to where you want to go, I’ll admit it does take some time, but one day you’ll realize you’re life is a LOT better for the effort.

    And remember everyone who is trying to change is behind you 100% and that includes me.

    I wish you the best, hopefully you’ll continue to read and I can offer more insight. Thanks!

    -Nate

  3. Pingback: 1000 Visitors: You Guys Rock « Building a Better Life

  4. Pingback: Missed a day | Nate's Blog

Leave a Reply

