The Long Road of Self Improvement

Chinese-Persistance

The story of the Chinese bamboo tree: You take a little seed, plant it, water it, and fertilize it for a whole year, and nothing happens. The second year you water it and fertilize it, and nothing happens. The third year you water it and fertilize it, and nothing happens. How discouraging this becomes! The fifth year you continue to water and fertilize the seed and then—take note. Sometime during the fifth year, the Chinese bamboo tree sprouts and grows NINETY FEET IN SIX WEEKS!

Self Improvement is like the Chinese bamboo tree. You improve day after day and it seems like nothing is happening. Then one day you’ll find the courage to overcome adversity, and you’ll think, where did that come from?

This was my experience in my self Improvement journey. I read books, I figured it would work, but nothing seemed different. Then one day at college I knew it was going to be really tough to get all the work done. I had two choices I could have quit, or I could go in 5 hours early to make sure it got done. Normally I would have said screw it I’ll eat a few bad grades, but I shocked myself when I gutted it out. That was when I realized I changed.

I hope you will feel the same sort of change. It is tremendous, and makes you want to improve more. But remember, you may have to grow yourself for a long time before you see results. Just keep going, one day at a time, and eventually your inner self will be ninety feet tall, and NO ONE will be able to stop you!

Leave a Reply

